Breaches and the five stages of grief

I recently observed while discussing a harmless incident related to someone I know, that how breaches are dealt with may be viewed through the five stages of grief model.

I was planning on writing more on my thoughts on this, but it seems that Jeremiah Grossman beat me to it since 2007. My version would be slightly different:

The five stages of grief for incident handling:
Denial “We never got hacked.”
Anger “How the heck did this get so bad?!?!?”
Bargaining “Is it possible that it is not a hack?”
Depression “We do not have time to rebuild; keep it running as it is.”
Acceptance “We got hacked.”, spoken in pubic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s