A simple incident taxonomy

Yesterday I learned about the International Nuclear Event Scale. Given this tool nuclear accidents are characterized in a 7 degree scale as follows:

  • 7 – Major Accident
  • 6 – Serious Accident
  • 5 – Accident with Wider Consequences
  • 4 – Accident with Local Conswquences
  • 3 – Serious Incident
  • 2 – Incident
  • 1 – Anomaly
  • 0 – Deviation (No safety significance)

Uppon seeing the scale I thought that it could be useful for characterizing cyber incidents too. Yeah I know, like we do not already have enough incident taxonomies. But I like it anyway.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s